Looking at the current relationship of religion to government I am returning to Jefferson:

 

The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.”

Thomas Jefferson

Perhaps we could have on our coins “In Jefferson We Trust”… or adapt the Pledge of Allegiance to “One Nation, under the ideas of Jefferson, with liberty and justice for all.”

Let’s also look at how religious differences world wide are working against us. I don’t think control of the Muslim Brotherhood is in our purview… but having extreme right Baptist preachers pushing anti-Muslim sentiments worldwide is bound to cause an extreme response.

 

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Announcement, atheism, editorial, ethics, government, Legal, Opinion, Politics, quote, Religion, Warning, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Looking at the current relationship of religion to government I am returning to Jefferson:.

Comments are closed.