Why I love Zappadan this year…

1. It keeps me from focusing entirely on the worst political situation this country has EVER been in, with parties that are concerned with themselves and ultimate power (and the acquisition of MONEY from the poor and middle class.)

2. I can spend a couple of weeks not expressing my fear of Monsanto’s RoundUp destroying our agricultural output with no counter measures by the Feds that we support and who are supposed to protect us.

3. I can reconnect with friends, associates and bloggers (and lots of new visitors) out there who felt the same about Zappa and add their comments (a big thanks to Dave Turecamo whose comment on one of the last posts gave us a new Zappa remembrance.) Thanks, friends… keep participating!

4. The music is great to listen to. Somehow the current run of popular, jazz, and classical music can’t hold a candle to it (except maybe for Dweezil)… and the great recordings of the Master’s incredible guitar playing has no current equivalent (which I’ll present at the end of this note.)

I hope you’re all having a great Zappadan, too.

Here’s Frank and orchestra doing The Black Page in Barcelona in 1988:

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Announcement, Art, Arts, creativity, funny, Music, Opinion, quote, Theatre and Art, Video, Word from Bill. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Michael J. Germain

    A very nice version of the Black Page. Just yesterday I was listening to my vinyl version of Shut up an play your guitar. A masterwork for guitar to be sure!