Daily Archives: August 27, 2012

What is it about Republicans and Rape?

Tom Smith is running for Senate against Democratic Sen. Bob Casey in Pennsylvania. When the Akin/Ryan/Rape business came up he was interviewed by Mark Scolforo of the Associated Press. Catch this:

SCOLFORO: How would you tell a daughter or a granddaughter who, God forbid, would be the victim of a rape, to keep the child against her own will? Do you have a way to explain that?

SMITH: I lived something similar to that with my own family. She chose life, and I commend her for that. She knew my views. But, fortunately for me, I didn’t have to.. she chose the way I thought. No don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t rape.

SCOLFORO: Similar how?

SMITH: Uh, having a baby out of wedlock.

SCOLFORO: That’s similar to rape?

SMITH: No, no, no, but… put yourself in a father’s situation, yes. It is similar. But, back to the original, I’m pro-life, period.

Perhaps Republicans have no real idea what Rape is… a violent and immoral crime. For the state to have control of a woman’s decisions related to the use of her body is equally as violent, whether psychologically or physically, and just as criminally immoral.

At least we know now that birth out of wedlock is “similar” to rape.

I hope you Pennsylvania folks keep a very good Senator that you are lucky to have… Bob Casey.

(Special thanks to Wonkette for the transcript.)

Paul Ryan Watch…

 

Did you know rape is just another method of conception? That’s what Ryan said in a live, television interview:

And we thought Todd Akin was the brain dead sex definer.

 

😦

 

Quote of the Day – Romney knows how people feel about him…

 

This from a Politico interview with Jim VandeHei and Mike Allen:

“I know there are some people who do a very good job acting and pretend they’re something they’re not. … You get what you see. I am who I am. I don’t think everybody likes me.”

Mitt Romney

Well, at least he knows.

Thanks to Dogs Against Romney

 

This appeared on the web a couple of years ago… but it is worth re-reading:

From Pause Before Agreeing:

How Liberals and Progressives Lose The Debate By Understanding:

By attempting to use understanding, or to solely use reason to explain their political positions, Progressives, and Liberals loose the debate.

Radical Conservatives, are not trying to understand, they are using Righteous Passion to light the fires of their political rhetoric – the flames of which are meant to burn Progressives and Liberals as heretics at the stake.

Radical Conservatives seek nothing less than to dominate, and eliminate Progressive and Liberal thought from the discourse, in fact they are damn tired of talking and trying to understand; they want action, and they want it now.

Progressives and Liberals will lose this debate because they are trying to understand the world and how to safely fit everybody in it.

Radical Conservative do not suffer this discomfort, they don’t want you in their world, unless you change to fit in theirs, they will do everything in their power to eliminate you and your progressive ideas from even getting a seat at the table.

So… if you want to include everyone in our world, you are like me and other progressive/liberals. Wasn’t it the fascists who wanted to cut out people they didn’t agree with, much less understand them.

Another set of facts necessary before listening to Republicans at their convention, thanks to Robert Reich…

 

Robert Reich is quite easy to understand and deserves a good listen:

 

A personal note – I’m living in considerable fear…

Yesterday I had another seizure like the dozen or so I’ve had in the past three years. As I mentioned at the time of the accident 4 weeks ago that left me with broken ribs and shoulder blade and collarbone (and sent me to the hospital for close to a week), my fall down the stairs was caused by one of these seizures. My car accident which took away my right to drive was the result of another seizure four weeks before that.

The worst part of these seizures is that after blacking out (and falling or actually carrying out some activities), I remember nothing until I come out of it… maybe a few minutes later, but occasionally a much longer time. Those who have experienced seeing me in such a state have confirmed that I talk to them and often do things… something I have never had a memory of.

My fear now is that these seizures may start coming more frequently. I’ve been through a large number of medical tests with no results. One doctor thinks it might be epilepsy and a couple of weeks ago had me watch out and see if new seizures happened, even with prescribed medication. I’ll have to call her today and tell her it has happened… not something I look forward to.

Elly is afraid that I’ll have one while she is at work and that I will fall and hurt myself with ho one around. I fear that, too… but I’ve got to go on living somehow.

Actually, this blog is one of the things that keeps me going and for that I thank the several hundred readers who view it every day. Sorry I’ve spoken about it now… I’ll try to lay off in the future.

– Bill

Something to think about during this week’s Republican Convention…

 

You will hear Romney and others accuse Barack Obama of accelerating federal spending ahead of all previous administrations. In reality, even with the stimulus bill, health care and other Obama achievements, the President’s level of spending is 0nly 1.4% on an annualized basis – the slowest amount of growth since the Lyndon Johnson administration in the 1960s.

Take a look at the stats:

These are the figures to keep in mind when the Republicans continue to lie about Obama’s record. Do not believe them!

And remember, it will cost us much, much more if Romney is elected.

Can we afford such a lesson?