My life has changed… not for the better, I’m afraid

Following my radio show this morning, I’m sitting over at Mellow Moods having coffee while I wait for my friend Cecil to pick me up

He’s over at  workshop at the Contemporary American Theater Festival and are schedules our slightly skewed.

This not being able to drive, what I have been condemned to since my accident, stands a real possibility of going on for the rest of my life. If I were in a city with public transportation to everything going on, it would be one thing, but I’m a few miles out of town in an empty, rural neighborhood where walking to anything is out of the question and there are no buses or anything else.

I’m dependent on family and friends to go out, can no longer do the grocery shopping, which I enjoyed, and, basically I feel trapped. The internet is my only way out, so you, dear blog readers, are now my connection to the world. I enjoy hearing from you whether you agree with me or not.

Think I’ll go buy another cup of coffee while it becomes 102° outside.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on July 7, 2012, in automobile, blogs, Climate Change, Family, News, Opinion, radio, Weather, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Laura Marie Elizabeth Richards Bakin

    Oh, and can I respost your comic on FB? I love it🙂

  2. Laura Marie Elizabeth Richards Bakin

    Bill, want to come out and guest-teach a couple of intro-to-tech-type classes for our summer camp? I’ll come pick you up and bring you back. We’d love to have you! It runs 7/30 to 8/10. Guest speakers come from 11:00 to 12:00.

  3. Move to Rockville, they have the best subway in the world.

  4. I know the feeling, although, at the moment I have wheels. I am in a power chair and had difficulty with my own van dying, got another, it’s a 1999, hope it goes for a while, but it always feels that I am right on the edge. I hope you can find something in your neighborhood, I’ve seen an app for Iphone, I think, about car pooling, but it’s probably for a more suburban area. Good Luck.

