Daily Archives: May 27, 2012

Church Member defends anti-Gay Pastor

Remember last week when I wrote about the North Carolina Pastor who wanted to put all Gays and Lesbians behind an electric fence and keep them there until they died out? That got a lot of play all over the net, mostly, I guess, because it was so disturbing… no disgusting… and even the religious folks out there were sort of pissed about it.

Well, Anderson Cooper interviewed one of that pastor’s church members who defended him. Keep an eye on Coopers face as he interviews her… you rarely see anyone so upset during an interview.

I believe Cooper himself is gay as well, so this must mean a lot to him.

Quote of the Day – George Will dumps on The Donald

(Of course, it’s not hard to do… but coming from another Republican?)

 

“I do not understand the cost-benefit here. The costs are clear. The benefits – what voter is going to vote for him because he’s seen with Donald Trump? The cost of appearing with this bloviating ignoramus is obvious, it seems to me. Donald Trump is redundant evidence that if your net worth is high enough, your IQ can be very low, and you can still intrude into American politics.”

– George Will

I guess Will isn’t going to the fundraiser The Donald is throwing for The Mittster (which, I understand, is being held to show up George Clooney’s Democratic affair.)

Bill Maher satirizes Birthers… this is FUNNY!

Bill created the concept of “wifer” and stuck Mitt with it, the same way some Republicans hit Obama as Birthers… You’ll like this:

Mitt Romney comes from a Mormon background. I don’t know how many wives he has. I am not saying I believe in that. I am just saying he was born on a Mormon compound. I’m not a wifer, but for some reason he has never shown his original marriage certificate.

“Again, I’m not a wifer. I’m just saying that he has the blood of nomadic polygamist tribesman and I think that has shaped his world view. Now, this is a copy of Mitt Romney’s marriage license. I specifically asked for the original. I even offered to go to the Romney house and take it out of Ann Romney’s marriage scrapbook, but some reason they frowned upon that idea and instead sent me this obvious photocopy. And isn’t a little weird that they chose to send only the short form license? And why next to Ann Romney does it say spouse and not only spouse? I’m just asking the hard questions that the mainstream media won’t ask about Mitt’s unholy harem of obedient sister wives which I really hope I’m wrong about.

 “How is it that Ann and Mitt Romney have five kids and they’re all thirty years old? And here, what is Mitt pointing to in this picture? The Olympic symbol. What is it five rings. What else has five rings? Five wives. And why did Mitt Romney strap his dog to the roof of his car? Could it have been because his station wagon was full of wives? I’m not saying I believe this wifer stuff. I take Mitt Romney at his word, but how do you explain this video.” (Video of Romney saying he believes that marriage is between a man and a woman, and a woman, and woman, and a woman).

So pass the idea around… especially when the righties push Donald Trump at us.

Relating fiction to fact: Something to make you think.

Found at The Bottom Line:

And if corporations came and did the same thing?

This isn’t science fiction… it’s contemporary fact.

Cartoon(s) of the Week – Moving backward in the 21st Century

Matt Bors in The Village Voice:

,,, and the circle goes ’round…

– and –

 

Mike Thompson in the Detroit Free Press:

… get used to it.

– and –

 

Rob Rogers in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette:

Meanwhile, we abandon our intelligence…

– and –

 

Nick Anderson in the Houston Chronicle:

…and without intelligence we’ll believe anything…

– and –

 

Jim Morin in the Miami Herald:

… even when presented with the truth.