Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, master singer of German art songs, dies at 86.

Fischer-Dieskau & Bernstein

I saw this morning that the famous German baritone Fischer-Dieskau died, and while he doesn’t relate, probably, to my current readers’ album collections, there was a time when I was in college that his voice had me entranced.

D F-D was what was known as a Lieder Singer, a performer of a certain type of folk song. He also performed in Wagnerian operas…famous for his portrayal of Parsifal.

Here’s a sample of D F-D for those who didn’t know his artistry… or for those who do and who will miss him:

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Announcement, Art, Arts, creativity, Music, News, Obits, Opinion, Video, Word from Bill, World News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for referring to my post (listentogoodmusic.com) . I will certainly miss DFD

