Daily Archives: May 8, 2012

Joe Bratcher made a donation to the blog today and I’m thrilled!

My thanks to Joe Bratcher for today’s great donation to Under The LobsterScope. Thanks, Joe, I’m so glad to have you as a regular.

Watch your e-mail, your Bill’s Barnhart Ornaments  font is on the way!

– Bill

If you’d like to help us out at Under The LobsterScope (and we hope you will), go HERE.

Oh, hell…another video before I drop off for the evening…

Romney Vs. Reality…

Is it that he speaks without having listened? Or does he think the true reality of things is so unimportant?

Walt Disney’s Taxi Driver…

There’s nothing I need more than a laugh after listening to politicians all day (and installing living room curtains). I came across this treasure while bloghopping: Walt Disney’s Taxi Driver. (You saw it, didn’t you?)

Have a great evening.

Romney says he deserves a lot of credit for saving the Auto Industry…

What? It was Romney’s idea to invest a lot in the Auto Companies? Isn’t he the one who said “Let Detroit go bankrupt”?

Now, speaking in Chrysler heavy Ohio, Romney is taking credit for Obama’s actions… they were his idea.

Yeah. Sure.

How does he sit down at all when his pants are always on fire?

Here’s a chance to support Under The LobsterScope…

…and get a free picture font just for doing it.

If you support this blog with $5.00 or more…

…you get “Bill’s Barnhart Ornaments” a great image font, based on ornaments and images from the 1898 Barnhart Brothers and Spindler Type Catalog. This is a font, for Mac or PC, that I usually sell for $29.95 and it’s one of my most requested. It’s my way of saying “Thank You.” If you already have Barnhart Ornaments, let me know and I’ll substitute a different one of my picture fonts.

So many of you have been following this blog since 2004 that I feel like a member of a huge web community.

I have enjoyed bringing you the Cartoon(s) of the Week, the Quotes, the Political and Arts News, the Blogrolls to the best sites in America and beyond… They are all a joy to put together. Often we get the breaking political stories before you see them anywhere else. And our wide open communication channels with readers can’t be beat.

I really need YOUR help to keep it going. I’m hoping you will make a small contribution, by PayPal or credit/debit card, in support of Under The LobsterScope. You’d be amazed at how much $5.00 can do to help me bring more and more to these pages. And it is probably the LOWEST annual subscription fee you will make to any publication… interactive or not.

And for a contribution of $5.00 (or MORE) you will receive a copy of my Picture Font, Bill’s Barnhart Ornaments – a classic collection of images for use in many kinds of documents and designs.

(I send you versions for both Macs and PCs by email… See the Sample Below.)

You should know, however, that even a contribution of only $1.00 adds to the ability of this unemployed blogger to find things for your benefit, and gives you my heartfelt thanks. By clicking on the DONATE button below, you tell me that Under The LobsterScope makes a difference in your time on the web.

Thanks,

– Bill T.

Robert Reich Illustrates the 7 Economic Lies…

If it’s not clear to you yet, Reich‘s explanations can be very revealing:

Pass this on to anyone who doesn’t see what conservative Republicans are doing to the economy. If we all stand up against it… especially in the upcoming Congressional Elections… we can bring back a growing and successful America.

Maurice Sendak dies at 83…

Anyone who has had children in the last few decades knows who Maurice Sendak was. The amazing children’s author and illustrator published the kind of kids books that did so much more than just tell stories… they stimulated the imagination and bonded parents to kids as they read together.

From “Where the Wild Things Are” to “In the Night Kitchen“(controversial in 1973 for illustrations of a naked hero-child), which was my favorite…and I think Buddy’s, too, Sendak was rewarded often… the Caldecott Medal and the National Book Award were just two of his honors.

He was an advisor to The Children’s television Workshop and worked on a number of television adaptations of his books.

As Al Roker said on the Today show this morning:

“A bit of our childhood has passed.”