Why I can’t stand Joe Manchin, unfortunately my Senator.

From National Journal:

Joe "the Turd" Manchin

Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., who has done more than any other Democrat up for reelection this year to distance himself from President Obama, said he does not know if he will vote for Obama or presumptive GOP nominee Mitt Romney in November.

“I’ll look at the options,” Manchin said this week. The last three years “have made it pretty rough” for his state, he said.

That stance is at odds with almost every other Democrat who is up for reelection this year or is from a state that Romney is likely to win. And it’s an indication of the unique effort Manchin has made to establish his independence from Obama and other Democrats. The senator has regularly used floor speeches and closely watched votes to, as he puts it, “respectfully” highlight differences with Obama, especially on environmental issues. He said Obama has never called him or sought a one-on-one conversation.

Manchin said his own vote will depend on how his constituents view the contest.

Well, I tell ya. My vote is not likely to be for Joe Manchin. I may not vote Republican. I may write in someone else… but I will NOT vote for Joe Manchin if he can claim to be a Democrat and not support his party’s candidate.

In my house, Manchin is considered lower than dog poop.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Announcement, campaign, Congress, ethics, government, Legal, News, Opinion, Politics, President Obama, vote, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Bill, Read your blog about Sen. Joe Manchin, and your bio.

    I was born and raised in the state of WV, as was my family from generations back. My grandparents on both sides, as well as my great uncles fought in the coal mine wars that led to the Matewan massacre, Blair Mountain battle, as well as hundreds of other lesser known skirmishes, in order to establish a union and fight for a better life for their families. My grandfather was head of a local union in McDowell county in the 1970s. I was fortunate enough to be involved with walking the picket line in the early 1980s at the tender age of 18 in support of the UMWA, which resulted in many shots and a couple of deaths. My family has always been pro union Democrats.

    I have been employed and working in the DC Metro area for about 15 years, and i have associated myself with many very politically smart people. I have also read many books on politics and learned all the tricks of language and nuance politicians use to code out their plans while sounding like “they” (Democrats and Republicans) are actually interested in the daily lives of their people. I have learned that they are not, both have deep self interests in things that promote their agendas while limiting our freedoms. Having said that, I am a registered Independent and mostly vote conservative. My WV family is not only okay with that, but has came around to my way of thinking, and quite easily.

    So.. there are my bonifides. I’m not sure if your from WV, or a transplant to WV from other states as your bio is unclear, and I’m not judging. Just let me give you some insight. My history is the history of most all West Virginians. And while i do not speak for all of WV, I can state that the citizenry respects independence, and will not go along with a perceived wrong. WV citizenry has a history of doing away with traitorous acts. In the state of WV, Obama is not just wrong, he is helping to destroy the only powerfully viable economy by shutting down coal powered power plants (4 so far), which in turn shuts down dozens of coal mines, laying off thousands of coal miners… yet replaces them with nothing. There is no replacement for coal, with the possible exception of nuclear – and there has been no nuclear power plants built in the US in generations, with plans of only one in the future.

    Sen. Manchin knows this to be true, and how can he possibly back a president who has NO interest in the people of WV? A president who is actively threatening the lives of thousands of ‘workers’ to feed his loony base? GM and the money banks got bailouts, WV only needs power plants and coal mines… which would greatly benefit an aging power grid that is starving for sources of power.

    Anyway, I’m only offering one point of view.

    Respectfully,
    David

    • David, I think you’re wrong about Obama, but you are, of course, entitled to your opinion. Btw, I was born and raised in Connecticut.

  2. It’s still the standard – ‘I’m not part of an organized political party. I’m a Democrat’.

  1. Pingback: Democrat senator: I may not vote for Obama « CITIZEN.BLOGGER.1984+ GUNNY.G BLOG.EMAIL

