Jonathan Frid, the original Barnabas Collins, Dies at 87

From the WAPO:

Jonathan Frid, a Canadian actor best knowing for playing Barnabas Collins on the 1960s supernatural soap opera “Dark Shadows,” died last Friday of natural causes, WKTV News in Utica reports. He was 87.

A Yale graduate, Frid was a theater actor looking for a teaching job until he was hired to play a 200-year-old vampire on “Dark Shadows,” according to a biography on his Web site. At its peak, the show was watched by 20 million viewers, according to TV Guide.

From the LA TIMESJohnny Depp, who plays Barnabas Collins in the new  DARK SHADOWS movie, commented:

“Jonathan Frid was the reason I used to run home from school to watch ‘Dark Shadows.’

“When I had the honor to finally meet him, as he so generously passed the torch of Barnabas to me, he was as elegant and magical as I had always imagined.  My deepest condolences to his family and friends. The world has lost a true original.”

We are losing so many people who were the stars of my generation. The world changes. Frid was the first time that I think a vampire became popular on a regular television show, something that seems to be more prevalent, and less sophisticated, now.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Announcement, Art, Arts, Cinema, creativity, film, News, Obits, Opinion, Television, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t know how Johnny Depp could run home to watch “Dark Shadows” when he’s years younger than me. Maybe he was watching reruns!

  1. Pingback: RIP Jonathan Frid (Barnabas Collins) | My Life in my 60's

