Poems for the 1st day of Spring:

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now

Is hung with bloom along the bough.

A.E. Housman (1859–1936)
A Shropshire Lad (1896)

Spring has sprung, the grass has ris’,
I wonder where the birdie is?

There he is up in the sky,
He dropped some whitewash in my eye!

I‘m alright, I won’t cry,
I’m just glad that cows can’t fly!

Anonymous

Spring breeze—
the pine on the ridge
whispers it

Kobayashi Issa (1804)

Enjoy the Day.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Announcement, Books, creativity, Family, News, Opinion, poetry, quote, Weather, wild things and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I cant forget Tom Leher’s,”……all the world seems in bloom on a spring afternoon as we

    POISON the pigeons in the park….” etc.

  2. Nice post. I’m very familiar with the second poem, at least the first line. I never heard the rest of poem before. But the way I heard the first line was – Spring has sprung the grass has riz’ I wonder where all the birdie(s) iz.’🙂

    Here is my first day of spring thing that I sprung – http://dahni.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/words-matter/

    Here’s hoping you are all moved in, unpacked, cable’s hooked up and this finds you presently egaged in HAPPY HOUR!🙂

    Best to you,

    Dahni

  3. Love the diverse sentiments! While I enjoyed each of them, my boys will LOVE the second one. Anything to get them reading poetry, right? Happy 1st day of spring!

