Ongoing chapter of the Comcast battle…

Well… here I am after the Comcast installation didn’t show up this morning (although the man they call the site survey came yesterday and said our connection to the cable was there on the outside of the house and we were ready to go.)

Installation was supposed to show up between 8 and 10. At 11, after there was no sign of a Comcast installer, I called the delightful folks and, guess what? They had no record of an installation appointment, nor any record of our address.

So I asked the rep – Devin – (and this was the fourth guy I spoke with after 45 minutes of being on hold with three other people), how did your site survey guy know which address to come to yesterday? Devin said he didn’t know how to explain it… he tried four different ways and our address didn’t come up.

While I was holding on the phone as he checked, I got on line to Comcast.com and found on my billing account that they were billing my old home’s service to my new address… I had him look up my bill and he saw it was so. But he said the address still didn’t come up with any request to reinstall my service.

Finally, after an hour and a half on the phone, he gave me a new work order number, told me he was putting it on an emergency alert and would call me back as soon as it was set up. That was almost 2 hours ago.

I’m still waiting.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Announcement, Business, Corporations, Economics, Family, Lies, News, Opinion, podcast, Technology, Television, Warning, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. After hearing stories like these… and your picture says it all:-) …. I can honestly say I LOVE Suddenlink. And I have so much sympathy for people who have to deal with companies like Comcast. They are on my sh*t list ’cause they were instrumental in canceling Eureka on syfy.
    Damn them!
    🙂

  2. Good grief! I hope they straighten that out SOON. Spending time on hold or waiting for installs that never arrive is SUCH a time suck.

  3. Mike Zagarella

    Well Bill – if you are really needing a TV fix you can come over to my house and watch something – I live a couple of miles the other side of S-Town from you.

