I’ve got TWO plays to see at CATF today…

“For 20 years, in the oldest town in West Virginia, new plays have had a home and a loyal audience.  The Contemporary American Theater Festival at Shepherd University is a dream for the writers of those plays.”


NPR’s Morning Edition – June 2010

On Saturday my wife and I were at the invited dress rehearsal of Kyle Bradstreet’s From Prague, one of the five plays I’m doing reviews for at WSHC. I won’t comment on it now (I do my reviews on Friday and they will be scattered through WSHC broadcasts at 89.7 FM… plus they will be reproduced on this blog and I’ll discuss them on next week’s Podcast), but I will say that it was one of the most amazing theatre experiences I have had in recent memory. This is a world premiere, so you are not likely to have seen it anywhere else… so go over to CATF and get tickets NOW.

This afternoon, John Case and I are going to the invited dress rehearsal of Sam Shephard’s Ages of the Moon and tonight Elly and I will be seeing David Mamet‘s Race at CATF. Then I’ll have two more plays to see tomorrow and Thursday so I can put my reviews together on Friday.

We are so fortunate in Shepherdstown to have the CATF. This is its 21st Season, and, as Elly and I have said many times, CATF is one of the things that attracted us to Shepherdstown as a place to live. To see excellent,

Contemporary American Theater Festival

professional Equity actors in new plays by both new and well-known American playwrights directed by supremely talented people like the Festival’s founder, Ed Herendeen, is an experience that defies accurate description.

More to come.

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I saw the From Prague dress rehearsal on Sunday morning. I was really blown away by the staging, and I thought the play was wonderful. I hope it will be the breakout hit of the season!

