I haven’t directed any theatre pieces since February of 2009…

… and I’m starting to get very depressed about it. I’m worried that I’ll lose my perspective and be unable to pull off the kinds of productions that I’ve done for  close to 45 years.

I offered ideas to two different community theatres last fall, but neither responded with an opportunity. Maybe it’s me… I wish I knew, then I could fix it.

I have a list an arm long of shows I want to direct before I give up the ghost:

The Fantasticks, Occupant (Edward Albee), I Can Get It For You Wholesale (a musical that is never done anymore), my friend Charlie Leipart’s musical Thorstein Veblen‘s Theory of the Leisure Class (I’ve wanted to do this one for years and I’ve kept in touch with Charlie Hoping it will come off someday. It was done last year in California under a new title. A while ago, while I was living in Laurel, Md., I came very close to doing it), Ionesco‘s Rhinoceros (another one of my old favorites and one that you don’t see much.)

That’s only some of them.

Anybody in the Eastern Panhandle region looking for a well-reviewed and experienced director?

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Art, Arts, creativity, Dreams, funny, humor, Job Seeking, Music, Theatre and Art, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Funny, I too have always wanted to direct Rhinoceros. I also want to Direct waiting for Godot. no interest in directing musicals. I enjoyed performing in them, just no feel for directing them….

    • I don’t so much like directing musicals, as I like directing pieces which use music, dance, mime, projections…all kinds of elements. It is what distinguishes live theatre from film. It’s more of a Brechtian approach than anything else. (I’d like to direct Godot, too.)

      • I did a scene from Waiting for Godot in an acting workshop. Loved it. I have wanted to do the show, either to be in it or direct it ever since but the opportunity has just never been there.

        SIGH

  2. I feel your pain, but hang in there creative ideas and opportunities are right around the corner. Be open and seek them out and I am sure you will be directing soon! In this day and age of extreme reality and computer animation, classic shows need new vision and people that are passionate about them. It sounds to me like you have both.