Daily Archives: September 15, 2010

Screw the Republicans. Screw Dodd. Obama plans to give Warren an Interim Appointment.

We were expecting this and it happened today. It’s to bad Congress can’t get it’s act together. We’re lucky to get Warren representing consumers, even if it is only for the interim.

This from Taegan Goddard’s Political Wire:

clipped from politicalwire.com

President Obama will appoint Elizabeth Warren to a special position reporting to both him and to the Treasury Department and tasked with heading the effort to start the new federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, ABC News reports.

Warren “has been seen by many on the Left as a force for greater accountability and transparency, and a check against the forces in the Obama administration more closely allied with the financial sector. Many officials in that sector eye her warily as too anti-business.”

blog it

I’m over at the Thurber Carnival Rehearsal…

We’re moving closer to opening and I still haven’t seen the whole show in sequence… therefore the light cues are not set. I’ve got all of the playing areas covered with pools of light… it’s when to switch them on and off (dimmers, of course) and how to group them that haven’t yet been decided.

I don’t think it’s going to be difficult to set up, but I really don’t like waiting until the last minute. I like to get my cues run enough in rehearsals that no mistakes are made during show times.

The cast is doing notes in the middle of rehearsal right now, so I can write this instead of watching where they are moving on the stage. I have about a page of notes so far to reposition some lights… but I understand the Director is changing her scenery concept and it will be going in soon and that will affect the position of lights.

OK… she’s starting up again… back to work

…and a Quote for the Day from the Delaware Winner…

“If he already knows what pleases him and he can please himself, then why am I in the picture?”
- Christine O’Donnell on her opposition to masturbation.

I don’t often feel bad for Republicans… but after the Delaware Primary, I have that feeling…

The Delaware Republican Party yesterday had a Tea Party Candidate, Christine O’Donnell, tromp the party endorsed candidate for their Senate nomination.

“[P]ublic records show O’Donnell has no steady income, no savings, no investments and owns no property. She rents a room out of her campaign office, which is a town home in a residential community.”

- DelawareOnline

Shortly after dropping a gender-discrimination suit against her former employer, a conservative printing firm that fired her for misusing company resources, she began her Senate run. She is also facing an IRS lien for $11,000 in unpaid taxes.

Take a look at the NY Magazine article that I’m printing the opening paragraph of and you’ll see what I mean (just her notion of what “carbon dating” means is pretty outrageous.) Delaware has always appeared to be a small but advanced State, well ensconced in the 21st Century… now it has an opportunity to go in reverse direction.

Read on:

clipped from: nymag.com

GOP’s Delaware Senate Nominee Christine O’Donnell Not a Big Fan of Evolution

Christine O’Donnell won’t have to lie about this Senate race. She won the Republican nomination for the Senate in Delaware fair and square, against a much more experienced, much more moderate, much more respected opponent, nine-term congressman and former governor Mike Castle. Now that she’s the nominee, the Republican Party will likely abandon the woman the chairman of the Delaware GOP recently said “could not be elected dog catcher.” Perhaps, in addition to all the things that have already come out about O’Donnell — tax questions, misuse of campaign funds, a trail of lies, some interesting thoughts on masturbation — they know how much remains left uncovered. Such as that, on March 30 of 1996, in her role as the spokeswoman for the Concerned Women of America, O’Donnell debated the merits of evolution on CNN, and she was not a fan.

Read the rest HERE.

Getting ready for more Medical visits…

Good Morning. I’m organizing my records of medications and other appointments before having my first appointment this morning with Dr. Khan, a Neurologist, over in Hagerstown. This was another one of the doctors set up by my GP, Dr. Kugler, to try to get to the bottom of my momentary lapses of spoken language control (which has gone on for several years and, although I’ve brought it up with Kugler visit after visit, the increase in occurrences has finally made him think this is something to look into.)

Friday I go to Washington County Hospital for a T.E.E. test after I do the morning radio show with John Case. Elly is driving me over, since I have to take a sedative and won’t be able to drive after it. After the test I have some days off from medical stuff, then I have, in October, blood tests and doctors’ appointments and a CAT scan. Then maybe they’ll find out what’s wrong and we can do something about it.

In the meantime, we’re only a little over a week away from Thurber Carnival opening at Full Circle Theater and I’ve got to get the cues and light levels finalized up in the booth.

Onward and upward!

________________________________

UPDATE:

Just got home from seeing the Neurologist and he’s scheduled me for another two tests over the next week or two. That’s JUST what I needed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers