Thunderstorm last night… rain at last!

It has been dry here for so long…what a relief to have a day when I don’t have to force water the garden. The thunder started booming at Midnight last night… my smaller dog Byron is afraid of thunder, so he followed at my heels as I went around the house closing windows on the rain-in side.

Checking the weather on line, it’s supposed to rain again today. The grass may turn green again from the dead brown it has become. We have had only about half the rainfall this year as we had last year, and last year was less than the year before. The climate change is affecting us here in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia as it is all over the country… and it’s not good. We have water now to regularly water gardens and wash cars, etc. What will happen if that water disappears?

I read the other day that by 2055, assuming everything continues as it is now going and we don’t take on any worldwide steps to stop or reverse the change, our water will be highly limited and what we have left will be too polluted to drink or use for farming. Time is working against us. I don’t imagine I’ll be around in 2055, but my son probably will… and my grandchildren, who are entering into a new world that I am, at this point, happy to avoid. Why can’t we convince the world that change has to be made now?

About btchakir

Retired Theatre Producer, Graphic Designer, Usability Tester and General Troubleshooter with a keen interest in Politics and The Stage. Currently heard on WSHC, 89.7 FM (on line at www.897wshc.org) and occasionally dabbling in Community Theatre.

Posted on September 12, 2010, in blogs, Climate Change, dogs, Education, Family, food, history, Opinion, Politics, Science, Warning, Word from Bill and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers

